Gearing Up

It’s Monday, once again, but I definitely don’t have the Monday blues. Quite the opposite, in fact. I’m rather excited that it’s Monday because this is going to be an exciting week.

Last Friday, I managed to take about 24 full hours off from school work and as a result, I am feeling very refreshed and ready to buckle down once again. I also went out dancing (which I love to do) but it wasn’t a typical club night. Instead, one of my classmates got a few of us together and we did something called contra dancing. Think of it like being in Meryton Town Hall for the local assembly in Pride and Prejudice, the Keira Knightley movie version. It was a lot like that and in fact, I found myself never without a partner and in great need of a dance card.

Also over the weekend, the bedrooms were recarpeted, causing me to have to pull out everything from my bedroom (and then put it back the next day) so I definitely got in some serious sweating which never fails to make me happy 🙂

And of course, this week I don’t have any major projects due and I’m already ahead on my reading for the week. And I plan to get even further ahead! But there is a very special reason why. This coming weekend is not only Halloween (on Friday) which means I will be lounging around and handing out candy as needed, but I will also be going to a rummage type sale (where I hope to find lots of books) and a fun Halloween party on Saturday.

nanowrimoBut more importantly, Saturday is November 1. And if you’ve been following my blog, you will know that that means. It marks the opening of NaNoWriMo!!!! I’m planning on buckling down to write at least 4,000 words over the weekend, and I’m hoping for more. I might even stay up late on Friday to get a jumpstart on the midnight opening! I’m so excited to add this to my ever-growing to-do list that I’m not even that worried about it. It means that I won’t be able to slack off after I come home from class for the next couple of weeks but I’m totally okay with that because it might just put me one step closer to getting published; a goal that I am aching to accomplish.

So that’s why I’m not bummed that it’s Monday. Because that means that November is almost here and I will soon have an excuse to sit down to write and get out all the words that have, unfortunately, been piling up over the last couple of months. If you would like to join me in this endeavor, check out NaNoWriMo’s Web site and join in on the fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

