Top Ten Tuesday Update

Top Ten Tuesday

Nearly six months later and it’s time to give an update for a Top Ten Tuesday I did back in December.

I gave a short list of debuts I was excited to read and have since realized that one of them is in fact not a new series, just a new publication, and that one of them is not a new author but an established one. The series Alcatraz by Brandon Sanderson has been around for nearly a decade and I still have yet to read it this year. The stand-alone, Eligible by Curtis Sittenfield I have in fact read and loved! The only thing I took issue with was the ending and I will be publishing a full review on it soon. The author has several other contemporary fiction pieces and I neglected to do my proper research.

I have only read one other book from the list so far, Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh and I loved it! It was a great work, definitely more sci-fi than I anticipated and well done. I loved the writing style though some characters were flatter than I would have liked, the plot was well paced and enjoyable. Definitely a book work reading.

Two others on the list, The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan and The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye (which has a Kirkus star) are both slated to be read in the coming weeks. I believe Riordan’s work is currently waiting to be picked up at the library. Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims is also coming due, although I am going to read The Outliers, the first book in a new series by Kimberly McCreight first.

I think I also need to publish a new debuts list for this year because I am rapidly adding more to my TBR every day. I even added a list in my phone, by month, so I would know when highly anticipated books are due out. I am a huge nerd.

Top Ten Tuesdays are brought to us by the lovely ladies at The Broke and the Bookish.

Leave a Reply

