Book Review: Stitching Snow

Once again, I’m playing catching up as the end of the semester gets to me. Last Thursday (when I was supposed to post this), I was on a plane to go home for my little sister’s graduation. Kind of important. But so are all of you! So you get two posts today and hopefully another book review by the end of the week 🙂

stitching snow

If you love fairy tales with a twist, like I do, then this could be another one to add to the list. I first became obsessed with this idea when I read Cinder and every one I have read since just reinforces the idea of awesomeness.

Stitching Snow tells the story of a young, troubled girl on a distant, frozen planet who wants nothing more from life than solitude and tinkering with her machine. Slowly but surely, that must change as she is quickly thrust back into the life that she has been trying so hard to avoid.

The book, as you may have surmised, is a retelling of Snow White, complete with a king, a queen out to kill the princess, and seven “dwarves” of sorts. There is a charming prince, a war to be fought, and lies to break through.

Essie doesn’t exactly know who to trust, maybe not even her own judgement. And the deeper she gets into the life she was running away from, the harder it is to leave, and the more difficult it becomes to do the right thing.

The former princess has a unique skill set which enables her to see things differently than those around her and be comforted more by machines than man. She is talented in many ways but maybe not in those that count towards winning a kingdom and keeping it safe.

Meanwhile, she is swirling with complex feels towards Dane, the young man who threw her back into the quagmire, and questioning her own sense of self. There is little to do except throw misconceptions out the window as the world unravels to reveal that few people are who they appear to be and there are many lives at stake because of that.

This book is science fiction woven into a fairy tale, but unlike Cinder, it is set out in the galaxy somewhere. On planets not too dissimilar to our own but enough not to be replicas. I really enjoy the style of writing and the dialogue. The plot was not as predictable as I feared it would be and the ending left me breathless. I was hoping there would be more but alas, it is a stand alone.

I wish there had been a little bit more of a love story early on but how it was done makes sense in the plot so I wasn’t overly upset about that. There were some other shocks along the way, however, that I was not prepared for. Brace yourself and dive into this creative universe.

Goodreads rating: 5 stars

My personal rating: 95

  • Writing style – 10
  • Plot – 9
  • Dialogue – 10
  • Personality of Main Character(s) – 9
  • Love story – 8
  • Invokes emotion – 9
  • Synopsis accuracy – 10
  • Consistent level of interest – 10
  • Stays on topic – 10
  • Accuracy of genre/genre blending – 10
2 comments

Leave a Reply

