Top Ten Tuesday

Thanks again to The Broke and the Bookish blog for all of these Top Ten Tuesday topics!

Top Ten TuesdayFebruary 3: Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t/Want To Read From X Genre (for example I feel like I’m pretty well read in contemporary YA but there are some STAPLES I can’t believe I haven’t read. Or if you just want to books you WANT to read in a particular genre..not necessarily long overdue)

This is a hard one because there are so many I have been meaning to read and just haven’t gotten around to yet, but here we go.

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen – Gah! The only remaining Austen book that I haven’t read! I have the entire collection in one solid B&N collectible book but this is still the one that lingers on, waiting to be enjoyed.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman – Seen the movie, love the movie, have had this book recommended several times to me and so I really need to read it now.

The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – Seen the show, love the show, and I’ve been told that it’s not too far off from the books…except that it is more modern, so I own them, now I just have to read them.

1984 by George Orwell – Yup, this one is still waiting on my bookshelf. It beckoned me over winter break but alas, I was distracted easily by Friends and Dr. Who.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – Also still waiting. I wanted to read it before I saw the last movie but unfortunately, that did not happen. Now, it is silently abandoned…and probably judging me.

The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov – Recommended by a friend, apparently it is a devilishly good time, involving Russians, vodka, a black cat, and Pontius Pilate, must read soon!

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – One of the few books I wasn’t required to read in high school and has been sitting on this list every since I went to Ireland and learned more about Wilde himself. If I come across a copy, I will buy it and eventually read it.

The Iliad and The Odyssey by Homer – Classics that beckon, myth and man combined, this has been at the top of my list for awhile and I own both but somehow haven’t gotten around to them.

The Gospel of Wealth by Andrew Carnegie – I actually just learned of this book and cannot wait to pick it up. Astounded that I’ve never heard of it before. All about rich and poor and philanthropy, yes please.

Mein Kampf by Adolf Hitler – I find Hitler to be a fascinating man of history so to read the story of his life from his perspective sounds amazing. Known about it for awhile and it just resurfaces so it’s slowly moving closer to the top of the queue.

One comment

  1. Great list! I’ve even got the Master and Margaretia mouldering on my bookshelf because I’m too scared to open it. The Picture of Dorian Grey has some fantastic lines, and its a nice short read 🙂

Leave a Reply

