Top Ten Tuesday

In typical fashion, I have once again missed Top Ten Tuesday posting on the actual day of the week that it is supposed to happen. But hey, it’s my last week of classes, cut a girl some slack. Plus I will have 3 books reviews headed your way so I promise to make it worthwhile for you 😉

Top Ten Tuesday

This week is December 9: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014 and what a VERY exciting topic this is!!

etiquetteGail Carriger – I am so in love with her writing and her characters, it’s late 19th century England with an irresistible steampunk twist. Her series Finishing School and the Parasol Protectorate are both wonderful to read, especially if you like to meld history with your fantasy.

Nancy Martin – For awhile there, all I was reading was the Blackbird Sisters Mysteries. Catchy and poignant, humorous and murderous, what’s not to love? There is high society gone wrong and a family on the edge of total annihilation, in the fiscal sense, all told by a witty narrator. cinder

Marissa Meyer – Okay, how many more times do I have to tell you to go read Cinder? The Lunar Chronicles is the best series to happen to me since…well, I can’t think of a good example. But it’s Grimm Brothers mixed with Science fiction in A Brave New World. *pant, pant, pant* Waiting for the next one…

Tracy Deebs – I’ve only read one book from her, the series she is known for doesn’t really interested me, but DOOMED is worth reading. It’s the actual end of the world, not post-apocalyptic which totally sucked me in and had me on edge for days. Definitely look into her work.

Peter Lerangis – After reading so much Rick Riordan (aka everything he’s written), you’d think I would be sick of kids saving the world but somehow, I’m not. Luckily, Lerangis’ series Seven Wonders is about Atlantean mythology and has a bit of a different plot than Percy Jackson but still fan-freakin-tastic

hornsStefan Petrucha – Wow, just wow. One book and I am totally hooked. Ripper was an amazing story that led me through history and murder and intrigue, it wound fact and fiction so closely together that I could almost believe everything was true. It was hard to tear myself away, can’t wait to see what else he does.

Joe Hill – I know I’m about to ruin everything but for those of you who don’t know, Hill is the son of the infamous Stephen King and his style is just as dark and interesting as his father’s. I’ve only read Horns so far but I’m hoping to pick up more of his books since I couldn’t put the first one down.

Jonathan Stroud – Apparently I’ve been missing out on this author for reads. I stumbled into the Lockwood & Co series while shelf browsing and was terrified and in love with the story I read. It’s a little scary, a little swashbuckling, and a lot of fun. Bright characters armed with wits and swords, getting into trouble and hunting ghosts. Um, yes please!throne of glass

Sarah J. MaasThrone of Glass has pretty much taken over my life in the last two months. Witty and sharp-edged, there is struggle and heartbreak, magic, mayhem, and sword-fighting. I enjoy all the characters, especially picturing the men shirtless, and the series just keeps getting better. Please publish the next one soon!

snow ashesSara Raasch – I can’t get through a post these days without talking about Snow Like Ashes, but hey, why should I? I’ve been highly enjoying series set in other realms and this one has one where it SNOWS ALL THE TIME. I want to be there, even if it has been destroyed. This debut is fast-paced and interesting and I am impatiently waiting for the next one!

Honorable Mentions:

Because I couldn’t pick just 10, here are two others to enjoy.

Leigh Bardugo – A friend of mine recommended The Grisha series to me and put it off for months before finally getting around to it and I was pretty glad that I did. The style of write flows nicely along, although some of the plot points made me cringe a bit, I’m glad I read some of Bardugo’s work.

John Green – While it might seem cliched, I read Paper Towns and The Fault in Our Stars and was pleasantly surprised with Green’s style and humorous insight. It’s not all drab and tears, there is actually quite a bit of humor and life lessons. Not something I could read every day but nice when I’m in the mood for something a little deeper and more touching.

Leave a Reply

