An Extreme Tale

An Extreme Tale.

As much as I hate Dickens, I have to admit that this opening line pretty accurately describes my life at the moment.

“It was the best times, it was the worst of times.”

Let’s start with all the reasons it is the best of times:

  • I am officially less than 2 weeks away from (successfully) completing my first semester of grad school
  • I was granted two great groups for the projects I have to complete for class
  • I’m all done with homework for the semester
  • Christmas is in less than a month!! which means that everyone is in higher spirits and just generally being nicer than usual
  • Speaking of which, I already have most of my Christmas shopping done
  • I scored tickets for myself and my family to see Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s new show in 19 days
  • I was able to complete NaNoWriMo for the 2nd year in a row (while in grad school!)
  • I’m healthy compared to the other germ infested creatures that dwell on this campus
  • I get to see two of my best friends on the same day, 10 days from now

Now on to why it is the worst of times:

  • I am so homesick that I’m having trouble concentrating on my work here
  • On that note, I want all the snow that is currently residing at my parents’ house
  • It’s the end of the semester which means that I have lots to do in terms of final papers, etc., resulting in a higher stress level and quicker boiling point to my temper
  • I have been recently (and extremely) distracted, for multiple reasons, by the appearance of someone from my past
  • Winter boots are nearly impossible to find at this time of year and I need new ones

Overall, I’d have to say that I have more to be thankful for/happy about than things that are frustrating or stressing me out. But it’s still pretty split on best times and worst times.

Leave a Reply

