NaNoWriMo

nanowrimoSo I know many of my fellow bloggers are also writers and/or avid readers in their own but just out of curiosity how many of you will be participating in NaNoWriMo next month?

If you aren’t aware of this phenomenon, well I will happily introduce you to this concept. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month and it’s an amazing competition of sorts where your largest adversary (other than yourself) is time. In this case, you have 30 days to write 50,000 words or the equivalent of a first draft of the majority of a novel. This equates to approximately 1,667 words per day and it’s a thrill.

They have writing sessions hosted in your local communities, pep talks from famous authors, and other types of encouragement to keep you going and keep you writing. Because that’s the end goal. It’s to force you (so to speak) into actually sitting down and writing that great novel idea that you’re always talking about, finally make it a reality.

It’s a lot of fun and produces some great stuff. If you’re interested in knowing more, check out the Web site, and be sure to let me know if you’re planning to do it!

2 comments

  1. I think I’ll be joining in, but on m own rules. I won’t start from scratch, but instead start off with the novel I attempted last year. I’ve rethought the general timeline, and basically need to start over – and this is the perfect opportunity! I will only count new writing towards my tally, though.

    1. That’s actually within the NaNoWriMo rules. As long as you only use the “new” words for the word count, it’s totally acceptable. I might be doing the same this go round 🙂

Leave a Reply

