Book Review: The Rule of Thoughts

Dear James Dashner,

You are amazing. Please get me the next book ASAP. My mouth is still agape and the anticipation is killing me.

Sincerely,

Kat Webber

rule of thoughts

What can I say about this book? Well first, STOP reading this review if you haven’t read the first book (See: The Eye of the Minds). And second, I never see these twists coming. Maybe I’m just less intelligent than some people, maybe I just read so “in the moment” that I don’t catch the subtle signs, maybe Dashner really just is that good. Any way you slice it, I’m happy to continue reading the words he writes on the pages.

Michael has just discovered a huge secret about himself (again, this will be a spoiler if you haven’t read the first one) and it’s seriously impacting his life. Or what he thought of as his life. Waking up a different person, literally, would be rather confusing, I imagine. And Michael has to quickly figure out his next move before he can even think about what this all means.

When Kaine’s goons show up, Michael realizes he is in trouble. And now he has to make a decision: should he find Sarah and Bryson in the real world and tell them everything or should he go it alone?

Well obviously the Trifecta to Dissect-ya can’t be separated for too long so the next phase begins. Except this one is infinitely more dangerous because it takes place in the “Wake” aka the real world. Life and death become close friends with the threesome as they try to figure out what the VNS and Kaine both really want. Agent Weber is acting strange, Kaine is begging for help, and neither the Wake or Sleep seem very safe.

There are several close calls, lots of action, and of course some underlying romance (from more than one person). This second installment takes the fighting, power plays, and intensity to all new levels. It’s hard to resist such an excellently pieced together world. With the Path complete and the future uncertain, Michael and his friends have to create their own way of doing things and find out what’s really going on.

Goodreads rating: 5 stars

My personal rating: 90

  • Writing style – 10
  • Plot – 10
  • Dialogue – 10
  • Personality of Main Character(s) – 10
  • Love story – 6
  • Invokes emotion – 8
  • Synopsis accuracy – 6
  • Consistent level of interest – 10
  • Stays on topic – 10
  • Accuracy of genre/genre blending – 10
2 comments

  1. I liked this one a lot more than the first, but I also understand why certain things I didn’t like from the first one had to be there so they would make sense for this one. I’m really interested to see how it all ends, and it better be with Michael and Sarah, not that other girl whose name I can’t remember right now (purposeful mental omission?) I was not pleased with the romance of “The Maze Runner” though so I’m a little worried.

    1. I liked the aspect of the Sleep in the first book but this one was intense in other ways. I really hope Michael and Sarah end up together too(and the other girl is Gabby)! The romance was a bit of a shock in The Maze Runner (which had a weird ending), so I totally understand where you’re coming from.

Leave a Reply

