Book Review: Amber & Blue

ABWhilst scrolling through my Twitter feed last week, I happened upon this novel of an indie nature and since I liked to give new authors a try, downloaded this one to my Kindle (I think it was also free at the time). However, the summary was a bit misleading and I quickly found myself mired in a story with so many elements and so many plot points that I couldn’t quite keep my head above water.

That’s not to say, of course, that I didn’t like the novel but the writing style kind of left me in the dust. The points were sharp but some seemed superfluous. There was a lot that wasn’t explained or was simply implied. The love story was captivating in The Notebook style but with more death and intrigue. The cuts were jumpy and the flow wasn’t pristine and while it has the makings of a great stand alone novel, it is apparently the first in a series.

Let me back up for a minute. Amber & Blue follows the story of Grace and Alex. Grace is the daughter of a wealthy businessman whose life was saved by Alex when they were younger. They never see each other again until he becomes part of the private security detail at her house. They live in an unstable world. One where Canada (of all places) is at war with itself, causing lots of trouble for the United States.

Grace is engaged to Sebastian who is not at all what he appears to be, which Alex discovers and tries to save her from. In a different series of events, men from Quebec and Montreal have been kidnapping American women for ransom, one group of which takes Grace. And it is up to Alex to save her once again. But the story doesn’t stop there, it becomes even more convoluted with the introduction of yet another man interested in winning Grace for his own. Who will win her heart in the end?

Because that’s really what it comes down to. It’s a love story which tragedy and heart break and a woman who is wanted by all. Some of the men are just more open (and less vicious) about it.

There were parts of the story that I felt myself saying “that’s it? that point is done?” which is not how you want to leave your readers. And others that made me all melty inside. And still others that had my cringing in my seat (in a good way). I think this is a fetal story, underdeveloped and not quite ready to be seen by the wider world. That being said, I enjoyed the overall plot even if some points made me scratch my head or were never fully explained.

It felt like a fantasy book (that’s what I actually thought it would be) but that supernatural element was never explicitly stated. Rather misleading if you ask me. Not to mention that bits of it were completely unrealistic. Such as Alex not sleeping for weeks on end. Or why Canadians would kidnap southern women instead of northern ones.  Overall, those elements detracted from what could have been a great book, making it less than wonderful.

Goodreads rating: 3 stars

My personal rating: 66

  • Writing style – 5
  • Plot – 6
  • Dialogue – 7
  • Personality of Main Character(s) – 8
  • Love story – 8
  • Invokes emotion – 6
  • Synopsis accuracy – 7
  • Consistent level of interest – 8
  • Stays on topic – 7
  • Accuracy of genre/genre blending – 4
Leave a Reply

