Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern

Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern.

Dear Kat,

Guess what!? I received my orders today. It turns out that next summer I will actually be in your area. Isn’t that awesome? I already googled it and the base is about 3 hours away by car. Can’t wait to see you for Christmas so we can celebrate my commitment together.

Hope you’re well,

Your Brother

 

Dear Brother,

Congratulations! What else can I say? I am so proud of you. And I’m so impressed that you have made this commitment to our country. But I’m also pretty terrified to be honest. I don’t know what I would do without you. I’m glad I will get plenty of opportunities to see you before you settle in to your base or get shipped out. It’s been pretty lonely down here. Too bad you won’t be around for our birthdays!

With Love,

Kat

 

Dear Kat,

I know I’ve told you this like a million times but you worry too damn much. Everything will be fine. At least I’m not going overseas right away. And yes,  it would be sweet to celebrate our birthdays together. But orders are orders and my ass is officially owned by the US  Government. (Hell, I can’t even get a tattoo without permission!)

Miss you,

Your Brother

 

Dear Brother,

Guess you’ll have to wait to get the American flag tattooed on your ass then. Promise I can see you before basic?

I miss you.

Kat

 

Yes, Kat. I promise. Orders or not, I will see you soon.

Love you.

 

Okay. Love you too.

 

(The word I chose was “orders” from pg 29 of The Rule of Thoughts by James Dashner.)

Leave a Reply

