Bookshelf Tag!

bookshelvesI’ve been “tagged” by Nadia to complete the Bookshelf Tag! You can read her version here, but this is mine. It’s basically a series of questions about books (preferably ones on your bookshelf), one of my favorite topics so I hope you enjoy. Feel free to create your own and link it in the comments so I can read it 🙂

1. Is there a book you really want to read but haven’t because it’ll make you cry?  Absolutely. It’s not currently on my bookshelf but was recommended to me by classmate. It’s called Thanks to My Mother by Schoschana Rabinovici. It’s a Holocaust story that is told by a child who actually lived in the concentration camps. So often we read The Diary of Anne Frank and think that this sanitized version is what happened to every child. That there were no stories after they went into the camps. But it’s the stories of the survivors, not just those who died, that need to be told and heard.

2. Pick one that helped introduce you to a genre. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien introduced to me to historical fiction. I had to read it for an English class in high school and absolutely fell in love with the story and the colorful tale. Then I read Devil in the White City by Erik Larson and was completely hooked. I don’t read the genre very often but I can definitely appreciate it more than I ever thought I would as child.

hp books3. Find a book that you want to reread. This is an easy one because I have been thinking about it for some time: Harry Potter. And I don’t mean just one book but the entire series. I think it’s been nearly 4 years or more since I’ve read the series in its entirety and I feel like it’s time. I’ve told myself that as soon as I finished all the library books I have checked out, I will take a break and get lost in the world of Harry Potter again.

4. Is there a book series you read but wish you hadn’t? Sadly, yes. There are actually two, but I’ll stick with the one that most people have heard of: The House of Night. Back in my extreme vampire phase, I devoured everything to do with the nightwalkers. And as an adult, I was a little past the YA take on them at the time or maybe this series just rubbed me the wrong way. Either way, I made it thru 5 books, painfully, before I decided to give in and give up on the books.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save? This is a difficult question, however I think I would have to go with my massive The Dark Jewels Trilogy
book. The book was originally on loan from my cousin who determined that I would love it but this is the copy that I bought for myself after. It’s well-loved and is a second hand edition but its tales and morals speak to me in a way that few other books can or do. polar bear in fridge

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories? A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein adorns one of my shelves and it is always a pleasant reminder of childhood. The poems aren’t all light and fun, some are actually pretty deep. And it produces great memories that make me smile when I’m feeling down. Anything from reading in class to sitting in a tree with a book.

7. Find a book that inspired you most. As cliquéd as it will sound Walden and Other Writings by Henry David Thoreau has been a source of amazing inspiration to me. Thoreau makes me think about life and perspective and perception and gives great advice. I know many people judge him or think that his work is crap but he has some really profound things to say if you would only take the time to listen. It’s not just about going off to live in the world, separate from the rest of the world. It’s about being your own person and taking a stand, two things that I highly advocate.

8. Do you have any autographed books? Surprisingly, I do. I took a class with a professor whose book had been published. And at the end of the class, I asked for her to sign it. Which she did, with a lovely inscription. The book is Seer by Barbara Paul-Emile. It’s a hero’s journey type tale and is actually pretty great. It’s a little mystical but not very outlandish. I recommend.

road not taken9. Find a book that you have owned the longest. I think this honor belongs to The Road Not Taken and Other Poems
by Robert Frost. It has writing all through it and pages that are dog-eared or tagged with Post-It flags. Frost was one of, if not the, first loves I had when it came to poetry. His fluid style and love of nature spoke to my Maine-girl heart.

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy? I resisted reading The Fault in Our Stars for so long because I was convinced it would just be one big emotional cryfest that wouldn’t do anything to benefit or entertain me. And damn was I glad to be proven wrong. Green is an amazing author that tells colorful stories in a way that makes you think and might make you sad but doesn’t make the entire plot about loss or cancer. I have since picked up Paper Towns and am tearing my way through it.

One comment

  1. I always have to give myself time to get things together before reading a holocaust book because I know I’ll end up a mess and questioning humanity. That being said, I’d too like to read Thanks to My Mother. Like you I haven’t read the Harry Potter series in years, but sadly, I think I’m done with them. I feel no inclination to revisit the story even if every once in a while I find myself missing Dobby. It was good while it lasted *sigh*

    Walden and Other Writings has been hanging around my home for a while now, and thanks to this I’ll give it a go ASAP 🙂 To be honest I’ve never thought of seriously reading it until seeing this post.

    As for TFIOS, I cried. I cried hard. Somewhere before the crying I laughed and smiled. It was a great book and he is a very good author. I’m sure I’ll read Paper Towns sometime in the future. Hopefully it won’t have as many hard words as TFIOS did because to this day I cannot get over the word harmatia, haha 😀 And hopefully no one dies (although if they do that’ll probably make me want to read it more).

    Thanks for sharing B)

Leave a Reply

