Top Ten Tuesday

top ten tuesdayThis week: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More. Easy peasy.

1) David Sedaris – One of the most hysterical books I’ve ever read (Holidays on Ice) and I’m told his others are equally enjoyable. Bring it on.

2) Jonathan StroudThe Screaming Staircase and the effusive Lockwood. The book is told in the first person but has a bit of a third person feel at times. I have the next one on hold at the library. Can’t wait!

3) Seth Patrick – If you don’t mind a little gore and horror and fear as the cost of a terrific plot and intriguing characters, the pick up The Reviver and let the creepiness begin.

4) Kate Messner – Kids who running around solving crimes involving historical artifacts? Basically Rick Riordan with just as wonderful plots and less mythology? Count me in to Capture the Flag.

5) Joe Hill – The style is raw, gritty, and human, and I couldn’t put it down. After Horns, I quickly looked to see what else Hill had written and decided that Heart-Shaped Box, ironically a great Nirvana song, would be next.

6) Stefan Petrucha – Historical fiction? Yes, please. More. Ripper was so amazing that I can’t wait for Petrucha to write another book in this vein. Brilliant.

7) Douglas E. Richards – Recommended by a friend and proven awesome by my experience. I started with Wired and plan to read the rest when I can.

8) Tracy Deebs – If you like apocalypse/post-apocalyptic then pick up Doomed and read until you drop. The end is nigh and you get a front row seat to watch it happen. I need more like this! Hint: the main character is named Pandora but it isn’t about mythology

9) Rainbow Rowell – A little girly for my every day reading but I enjoyed Fangirl so much and hear great lines about Landline that I’m forced to admit I want to read more.

10) John Green – I’ll admit that I liked The Fault in Our Stars even if it was a sob story. But it wasn’t told in a Mitch Albom or a woe-is-me type way which made it bearable. I have Paper Towns sitting on my TBR list.

Honorable Mention: R.G. Alexander. I’m stilling fanning myself after reading My Shifter Showmance. Who doesn’t want a hot relationship with a man who can become a beast, literally.

One comment

  1. I didn’t realise that Jonathan Stroud had a new series out! I’ll have to check that out, I loved The Bartimaeus Trilogy.

Leave a Reply

