Is it just me…

texting

…or has texting become just one more thing that we have to pay attention to and in the battle for our time, it’s starting to lose?

I can’t be by my phone every minute or even every hour of day. So when I don’t respond, it’s not because I’m ignoring you. If the entire day has gone by and you still haven’t heard from me then it’s possible, I’m ignoring you. I try to check texts and emails every couple of hours when I’m busy. If I’m not busy, I will mostly like have my phone nearby so I should respond quickly. That’s just how I roll.

Texting is basically a faster version of email. It’s meant to be responded to in short increments in a relatively short time span. However, that’s doesn’t mean that I’m going to be on top of my phone 24/7. And in fact, my cell doesn’t even have a ringtone! Shocking, I know. But in a world full of distractions (and traffic jams), I don’t want to hear it going off every 6 seconds with a new message.

But this right here, is the single most annoying thing about texting that has started to occur (other than not being able to tell tone or intonation). If I send you a text and I don’t get a response by the end of the day, I’m going to text you again and see if you respond this time. If you do and say “oh, sorry, I read your message and meant to reply but I forgot”, I’m going to get pissed.

Why did you read the message and not take the 2 seconds to respond? I understand if you suddenly became busy and it slipped your mind but when you’re scrolling through your phone/messages at other various intervals, how did you still not remember? Don’t “respond in your head”, don’t “read and forget”. Mark the message as unread or leave it open on your phone and then lock it so when you return to mindless scrolling, which we are all guilty of, it’s the first thing you see. It’s common sense and it’s the respectful thing to do.

And even more annoying is when people tell me they don’t have time to talk and then within thirty seconds, they have tweeted or posted a new Facebook status. Don’t even try to pull that one on me. Again.

Texting used to be the easier, faster way that people communicated instead of talking on the phone. And now it’s become the main way that people converse. So shouldn’t there be common courtesy instituted, even if spelling and grammar have been thrown to the side? Shouldn’t you remember that you’re having a conversation, not just talking to a robot?

Let’s get focused here, people. If you’re going to text instead of call, at least be polite about it. I don’t expect immediate responses, unless we’re in the middle of a convo, but I think 4 hours is the stretching point of my patience to wait for a text response (when I know you’re not working or otherwise engaged).

We should all try to be a little more aware of how we’re treating others. Even if it’s only via texting.

Leave a Reply

