30 Days of Painting, Day 7: Celtic Knot

I love watching art take form.

Stories & Soliloquies

This month I’m doing 30 Days of Painting in order to get more comfortable with a brush. I’d love to feel confident enough to illustrate my stories for myself and my family. I’ve been playing with brush work, lettering, color washes, and more.

Day 7: Celtic Knot

This week I decided to do heavy detail work in water color. There’s no better test of your brush skills than an intricate, Book of Kells style Celtic Knot. I sketched it out first:

photo 1

Then I started filling it in with color, basically at random. I accidentally took this picture with a color filter on, but I can’t go back in time to get the moment.

photo 2

Then I went back and amped up some of the colors and want back over it with a pencil to define the edges. I’d like to go over it with a darker outline, though.

photo 4

But I…

View original post 10 more words

Leave a Reply

