Is it just me…

halloween

…or does fall keep coming earlier every year?

Not that I’m complaining because I love fall and I’m sure this is something that people complain about every year, but why can’t we just let seasons happen when they are supposed to?

It’s literally over 2 months until the Feast of the All Souls, the Day of the Dead, Halloween and already stores are lined with pumpkins and ghosts, candy and costumes.

I enjoy my pumpkin beer as much as the next (former) New England gal and I live for pumpkin coffee but does that mean that I need to see it in August? Definitely not. September would be just fine with me, thank you very much. (Unless you want to give it me year-round which I would be totally okay with.)

As someone who has worked in the retail world for several years, I know why it’s done. I know that they want to catch the consumers at prime shopping time, i.e. back to school and before the month of the actual holiday. It’s the same reason you can’t find winter boots in January and you can buy a bikini in February.

But at the same time, as a big advocate of making memories and enjoying the moments I have on this earth, I can’t help but be against this blatant “sell, sell, sell” mentality. I love to shop and I love to decorate my home for the seasons/holidays but I can’t enjoy my last fleeting moments of summer if I’m already being bombarded with and seduced by the temptations of autumn.

So let’s just stick to the summer sun for at least another week. Then we can start sleeping with our windows open and making sure we have a sweater for those chilly fall nights. And sure, we can buy our Halloween candy at the beginning of October and go apple-picking in September, but let’s focus on the here and now before tomorrow catches up to today and we’re wondering what happened to August.

Because, let’s face it. Before you can say “Halloween”, stores will soon be bringing out the Christmas decorations. Which are sure to bring out the worst (Black Friday) and the best (family traditions) in everyone.

Leave a Reply

