Top Ten Tuesday

top ten tuesdayThis week on The Broke and the Bookish blog’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read (whether because they think it’s a “you” book or it’s just been generally recommended so often), so here is mine for your viewing entertainment.

1) 11/22/63 by Stephen King – I can’t normally read King’s style of writing even though his plots and characters are brilliant, but so many people have told me I will love it.

2) Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo – I actually did end up reading this book but only after it was pushed on me repeatedly by a book-loving friend of mine who insisted I would love it.

3) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I’ve tried to it and it is flouted as one of the best books of this century but still haven’t gotten around to reading the damn thing.

4) Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey – Goodreads and several groups on there have been throwing this one in my face so I finally added it to my TBR list, just to shut everyone up.

5) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Finally caved and read this book after months of being told that I had to experience it. Bawled my eyes out.

6) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne – Recommended by a former coworker of mine who thought it was a very “me” book. Added it to the TBR and haven’t thought of it since.

7) The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – I’ve had several people tell me that this is a “must read” but I just can’t quite get into the right mindset for reading it.

8) Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb – A book lover told me about this author and suggested this book as a starting point, a book which I don’t feel nearly as interested in as some of her other work.

9) Life of Pi by Yann Martel – I really, really, really want to read this book before I watch the movie but I’m finding it impossible to actually sit down and read it, or even watch the movie.

10) Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – I’ve been told to read this book, I’m intrigued by the concept of this book, it’s supposed to be a great novel but I just can’t seem to read it.

3 comments

  1. I finally read “Shadow & Bone” recently because of how much I saw it on all the blogs I follow, and I have to say it was certainly worth the praise. I would also support the recommendations of “The Book Thief” – so good, and “Life of Pi,” – not my favorite, but I think it deserves a read. I have also been being told to read “The Fault in Our Stars” – but it’s just not my type of book, I think I’ll hold out a bit longer.

    1. I actually just finished “Siege & Storm”, the second book in the “Shadow & Bone” series and it was definitely worth reading as well.
      I really want to read “The Book Thief” but I find the writing style to be a little confusing and hard to get into.
      I didn’t think I would like “The Fault in Our Stars” but it’s actually very well written. And the book isn’t just some sob story, it has real depth and growth, and most of it isn’t even sad. It’s more “Are you there God? It’s me, Margaret” or “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” than “Perks of Being a Wallflower” or “The Kite Runner”.

      1. I thought the same when I started The Book Thief, but stuck it out and loved it. I’m also a history nerd so that probably had something to do with it too. And I am going to borrow The Fault in Our Stars from a friend for the exact reasons you just mentioned. Have fun with the rest of the Grisha series, it’s totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

