Movie Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

tmnt-all

I couldn’t help myself. I had to see it.

The last TMNT that I saw was in 2007. On my 18th birthday. When I locked myself out of my car. With it still running. In the pouring rain. And what made that day better? Getting to see TMNT. (And having my parents live down the road from the theatre with a spare key.)

ticket

I try not to read reviews for movies I know I want to see in the theatre, it can put a damper on them and pull a preconceived notion of how they will be before I get the chance to form my own opinion. Which I hate. So while I wasn’t sure Megan Fox was the right pick for April, and that there had been some sort of backlash between her and the general public already, I tried not to read too much into it.

So I took my cousins, ages 10 &13, to the theatre with me (and not because I was embarrassed to be seen at a kid’s movie) and we settled in for the relatively short ride. Over the course of about 90 minutes, we laughed, were awed, excited, and shocked. Not that any of that adds up to a good movie (or a bad one). In fact, I have a few points that I would like to critique.

1) Megan Fox didn’t have the right face or coloring to be April O’Neil. I think she did an admirable job playing the character, except for the reporter bits, not sure about that. And she definitely has the action star babe thing down pat but honestly her beauty was a little distracting from the role. I always pictured April a little more tomboy with shorter hair or at least a ponytail (and less make-up), I mean come on.

2) Sensei Splinter started to explain the weapons he chose for each turtle, but stopped after just one. Uh, okay. What was the point of that? The katana for Leo, that’s all. Not to mention that Leo actually has two swords, but alright.

3) I felt that all of the brothers had very definitive personalities that really shown thru, except Leo. Mikey is the goofball who is addicted (more than the others) to pizza. Raph is the badass who has issues with authority. Donnie is the glasses-wearing nerd who always comes up with a plan. And Leo is…what is the rest of that sentence? I mean, I know who he is from prior exposure but I felt that his character was far less developed in this movie than the others.

4) I liked Will Arnett as Vernon Fenwick but I think it was unclear to most of the audience who he actually was. It kind of seemed like he and April had a thing. But she clearly wasn’t interested. And I always got the impression that he and April were rivals, not necessarily partners. So that was a whole pile of confusing.

Overall though, I have to say that I did enjoy the movie. It wasn’t as showy or explosive (pun intended) as most Michael Bay productions but it was a solid B+ movie, in my opinion. There were a few flies in the honey, so to speak, but I did like it. It was slow to start but then amped up the action which I liked. And the scene on the mountain in absolutely fantastic. (If you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about. If not, the movie is worth watching just for that 10 minute sequence.)

Leo

And of course I took the quiz. Want to find out which Ninja Turtle you are? Click here.

Leave a Reply

