Top Ten Tuesday

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read (books you may have bought but aren’t sure if you are into it anymore, books you wanted to read but heard mixed things about, hyped books you aren’t sure about — basically any book that has you going, “TO READ OR NOT TO READ?”

I seem to have this issue a lot. I buy or add books to my Goodreads list and I never seem to get around to reading them. It’s actually pretty depressing if you think about it. I mostly find this is true with books that “I’ve always wanted to read” but once I get my hands on a copy, it’s like I’ve already moved on to the next book so I’m no longer that interested.

1) The Iliad (and The Odyssey) by Homer – I really want to see what all the fuss is about and read this story in full but I never seem to get around to it

2) Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen – I own the entire Austen collection and yet this is only one I have yet to read. No idea why.

3) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas – I took AP English in high school and so I never had to read this but I find that most of my friends did…weird.

4) Death by the Book by Lenny Bartulin – I’ve owned this book since I picked it up a library book sale and have yet to read it, I think because it’s on the second tier of my bookshelf it continuously gets lost in the shuffle.

5) The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – This one gets rave reviews but every time I look at it, I sort of just shrug and move on.

6) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I’ve now attempted to read this book twice and can never get more than a few pages in. I find it to be confusing and not fluidly written, may not try again.

7) Life of Pi by Yann Martel – I want to read this book, or at least I thought I did. But I kind of think that seeing the movie might be more enjoyable.

8) 1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus by Charles Mann – This has been resting on my shelves for no less than 3 years and I have yet to read a single page.

9) Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire – This gets lots of attention in my Goodreads groups but I haven’t made the effort to pick it up yet, seems like a cross between Twilight and Fifty Shades, which is beyond ironic.

10) American Gods by Neil Gaiman – Got this one from the library, abruptly lost interest. For some reason, long books have been very deterring to me lately. Especially ones touted as being “amazing”.

One comment

  1. Haha, you’re just like me! The Count of Monte Cristo and The Iliad have been on my list forever! Northanger Abbey is personally one of my least favourite Jane Austens but it’s easy enough to read. The Life of Pi I cannot read, but the movie was pretty great so you should give that a shot. I get what you’re saying about long books putting you off of late because the same thing’s happening to me 😀

Leave a Reply

