Thoughts on Life Wednesday

lifeThere are few thoughts as depressing as ones that involve reminiscing. I don’t mean to say that reminiscing is bad, just that most people look back on their lives and say “that was a great day, too bad I can’t relive it” rather than looking back and saying “that was a great day, I can’t wait to have a better one”. 

Too often people think their lives have “peaked” and won’t get any better. Well, I’m here to tell you that if things can get worse, they can certainly also get better. Some of the best moments of your life might be just around the corner waiting for you to catch up. And yes, some wonderful moments have probably already happened that you never want to forget but don’t think that the past good will have to be balanced out with future bad.

Some of the best moments are still ahead. An important lesson for everyone, I think, but in particular for the world’s young people. Too often, teenagers give up hope when things get really hard. They don’t see the light at the end of the end of the tunnel. They don’t realize that life doesn’t end after high school or that high school will completely define who they are and what they can become.

The truth is, I learned more about the world in college than I did in high school and I was definitely more often than not one of those melodramatic types who hated high school. I knew who I was and felt off-balance and out of whack with many of my peers. And by the time I finished my freshman year in college, I felt like I had a place where I truly belonged.

It’s okay to celebrate the past and think of it fondly, but it is also important to look ahead with excitement for the future. You never know when a great day will strike so go out and live and be sure to remember when it does, but smile and say to yourself, “that was a great day, I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings”.

Leave a Reply

