The Giver

Have you ever saw commercials for a new movie and wondered if it was a book? And then of course, once you wonder that, any self-respecting book lover will immediately Google it and then go find the nearest copy if it an interesting sounding book.

This has happened to me several times over the years. Titles like Twilight, The Book Thief, Ender’s Game, The Wolf of Wall Street, and The Monuments Men all come to mind. I have become interested in reading the books after seeing the preview for the movie. That new thing that everyone is talking about. Well it’s happened yet again. This time with “The Giver”.

I thought I had read this book as a child, but it turns out that I hadn’t. (I’d read “The Wish Giver” which is very different.) And my cousin mentioned that he would be reading this in 8th grade next year so I decided I should pick up a copy and see what all the fuss is about. And within 10 pages, I could see why the movie is being made now. There is a huge market for dystopian/post-apocalyptic/cult-like society movies based on the realm of YA novels that are popular.

The novel is decidedly spectacular. It paints a picture (pun intended) of a community that has strict rules and faithful followers. It is creepy yet completely logical way of life. And it makes you question your own life and if it would be better if you had someone else to make major life decisions for you, for mutual overall benefit of course.

I love finding a book that makes me think. And this one certainly did. The quick read gave me chills at times but its message is worth sharing. So if you haven’t read it, I would recommend doing so before the movie (with Jeff Bridges, I might add) comes out. And not just because I think the movie will alter the premise drastically and manipulate the message to suit the watered-down Hollywood version, despite having the blessing of the original author. I can already tell it will be very different (not necessarily to the point it will be a bad film) based on the movie poster. Oh, look another teenage romance novel. Wait a second…

Leave a Reply

