Reading’s Suffrage

One of the blogs that came up on my feed today featured this article: Ebooks Econ 101 and the last piece of it really got me thinking. This sentence in particular stuck with me: “But if it doesn’t, a future in which only the rare few can earn a living writing is one in which reading will suffer.”

I’m struck by how strongly I both agree and disagree with this statement. I agree with it in the sense that reading will undoubtedly suffer by writers who are unable to get published or to continue publishing because of the mounting cost of effort and the need to pay their own bills. I disagree by saying that reading is ALREADY suffering.

I can’t tell you how many people I have met in the last three years alone that haven’t picked up a book since their last high school or college English class. People have become so sucked into the reality on their televisions that they forget about the world outside of that. Or they sit around on a laptop all day, waiting for something to happen so they can tweet or blog about it.

True, reading will continue to suffer if we have good writers who cannot be heard. But isn’t it already suffering because of the societal norms we have grown into in the last 50 years? I think it’s time to get our butts off the couch, out of our computer chairs and dive into a new world, fact or fiction doesn’t matter, but one thing is for sure, people should be reading more not less.

Leave a Reply

