Today

Sometimes you have a hard day.

Sometimes things don’t turn out like you expect them to.

And sometimes you need a kick in the ass from your best friend.

Today was a hard day. Maybe it was the weather or the moon or the fact that it was Friday the 13th. Maybe it was a series of circumstances having very little to do with me that somehow affected me greatly. I don’t really know why. But whatever the cause, whatever the reason, today was hard. Not necessarily bad, mind you, just difficult.

So, I did what I always do: called someone. Normally, I talk to my grandmother when I’m feeling down, she truly has a lot of wisdom to offer. But today, fate decided that my bestie would be my best bet. She took my call and did what she always does: let me cry for a total of ten seconds before she cut me off and told me to explain why I was upset.

When I couldn’t arrive at a single valid reason, I realized that there was no need for my tears. That I, in fact, have a lot to be thankful for, especially recently. Plus she told me to stop complaining and just move forward recognizing all the good I have in my life right now. And damnit, she was right. Which is why I love her.

I bucked up, had a drink, and then I did what always helps: I wrote.

Hopefully I will have something to show for it soon rather than just a stream of consciousness filling up the page. After all, why mope about a tough day? I muddled through the other side of it and tomorrow is another chance.

Image

Leave a Reply

