Feminism

Before you read the title and turn away, I want you to know that I’m not going to rant about the perks or benefits of being a “feminist” or rather what most people consider to be “feminism”.

No. Instead, I want to draw your attention to a curious phenomenon that I see happening in ever-increasing amounts. I have met in the last oh, 5 years or so, some extremely remarkable men and women. By remarkable, I mean to call attention not only to their financial success but their goodness of heart, morals, and family principles. One interesting thing that I have witnessed in the last 2 years is the number of powerful or influential women who are the sole or main provider for their families.

Why is this interesting? Well besides the obvious role reversal, I think it’s fascinating that some women are still claiming to be “feminist” when the social order is showing an decreased need for this behavior. Some philosophies of Feminism hold that equality and the break out of gender or racial roles should apply to women AND men, which I find to be more reasonable. And isn’t the fact that in many households of my acquaintance that the woman makes more money than her husband or is the only source of income while he is a stay at home dad proof enough that equality has become more widespread than we realized?

I’m not saying we should stop fighting for equal rights on any front. I just think it’s important to recognize progress when it is being made. And that we shouldn’t simply continue to fight and say that little has been gained. The last century has been one of extreme change and I think the more we notice our results, the happier we will be. Gender roles shouldn’t define us.

Although isn’t it ironic that we are fighting to break out of gender roles in the workplace and yet socially, we adhere to “perfecting” our bodies to suit a stereotypical image that is based on women and men who are literally PAID to look good?

 

Note: This post was prompted by an article I read on Buzzfeed (Love you all over there!) http://www.buzzfeed.com/krystieyandoli/confessions-that-prove-being-a-feminist-is-a-complicated

Leave a Reply

